Noodles in my Inbox

Lost on the Internet somewhere, in a post, a series of posts, or a defunct Google Group conversation, is the transcript of that fateful day when Sweden came into my life. That midday car ride with two other original Idle Time members, the debut LP from Suburban Kids With Biblical Names, and a rousing “Noodles” singalong. It’s possibly a Nordic enchantment of some sort; no other way to explain the resulting obsession.

More recently, JN, back from a year in Scandinavia, educated me on all the Nordic music I’m missing out on if I narrow my exploration to songs sung in English.

Yesterday, RF sent me a song in an email subject-headed A little gift from Iceland. It’s warm-blooded nouveau soul straight outta Reykjavík. The file didn’t have the track title, so I had to investigate on my own. The name of the song is almost as fun as the music itself. “Sjáum hvað setur,” courtesy of Icelandic four-piece Moses Hightower.

This also served to remind me that, months ago, I emailed myself a link encountered via the back-from-the-dead SKWBN Twitter feed.

Suburban Adult Johan Hedberg has a new album coming out (I think… I can’t read a work of Swedish) and this little gem appears to be the first single.

I’d love to be singing along in Swedish at some point. That’s next-level JaJaJa devotion worthy of a ’15 resolution, perhaps. In the meantime, I’m encouraged by this Tweet:

And to complete the trifecta of tunes time-capsuled in my Gmail inbox, it’s time to appreciate this new cover of The Marvelette’s “All The Love I Got” by PEP. The wonders of Bandcamp: support a band, and get audio email updates all the year round.

Happy Friday, y’all.

Leave a Reply

